Where were you. . . .

Posted on June 2, 2011

8



. . .when you heard about the Primal Blueprint?

(Since the last post was a fairly negative post, I thought something lighter was in order. Positivity-imbued nostalgia for the save!)

So where was I when I found out about the PB? I was in the Aulde Dubliner, a pub in the Byward Market. See that huge glass facing that looks like a garage door, in the upper right of the image? Just behind it lies a pair of comfortable chairs in front of a fireplace. That’s where my buddy Dan and I were sitting, having a pint, in August 2010. That’s where he told me about the Primal Blueprint. That was the day the way I looked at health (well, my health) altered completely. It was actually the first time I ever bothered to learn anything about nutrition and fitness, period.

Had someone told me that I’d be where I am today thanks to a high-fat/low-carb diet, I’d have laughed. “The point is to drop fat! Why the fuck would you eat it?! Idiot.”

So why was I receptive on that particular day? Well, a few reasons:

  1. I’d broken up with my girlfriend of four years. It was mutual and we handled it as well as anyone could have, but emotional damage was still done.
  2. As a corollary to that, the absence of a significant other’s implicit attraction left a gaping hole that forced me to realize how much weight I’d put on over the course of three years. I could no longer deny how far I’d drifted.
  3. Following on from that, insecurity and inadequacy quickly washed in to fill that gap. Positive and immediate action is the only remedy for a feeling of dismal helplessness.
  4. Dan was looking fit, healthy, happy and just outright fucking vital. I wanted to know if all that could be emulated, so I was open to any wacky idea.

So I guess it was just one reason, really, that cascaded outwards and created the perfect disposition whereby I was prepared to hear Dan out.

Ultimately, though, as much as I owe Dan, I have myself to thank. Agency is one of the most important things in life. If you don’t assert control over those elements in your life that are under your power, what do you have? You become a passenger — a spectator — in your own fucking life. In that spirit, the following is something I posted on Twitter yesterday:

“It’s better to regret an action boldly undertaken than it is to whimper in regret in the vacuum of inaction.”

Anyhoo, here I am. In one month’s time, Dan and I will be tackling the Spartan Race (the 3-mile “sprint” version). That’s something that would have destroyed me within minutes just half a year ago. Now? I can’t fucking wait.

How about you? Did you stumble across the PB by pure happenstance? Were you led to it by a friend? Did a doctor recommend it? Feel free to share your Primal genesis in the comments.

